Trinity United Church of Christ - St. Petersburg

Wherever you are on life's journey, you are welcome here.

Forums

Forum Home > General Discussion > Impressed on my heart

Jacob Beeman

Hello Trinity,

My name is Jacob Beeman. I am new to your church and have only been with you for two Sundays now. I did however wish to pose to all of you a discussion that I feel might help us all grow in our spirtual journey with God as well as give me a better understanding of the worship style of Trinity and UCC. I would like to speak of personal worship and personal walks with God with other Christians. What has been holding this on my mind for the past two weeks now has been a question that the pastor asked on Sunday March 20, 2011. She asked everyone assembled "Why do you come here[Trinity]" So few were able to answer and this absolutly blew me away. Then when she asked if anyone could share with her and the congregation, not one person spoke up. Well if we are so unsure should we not examine this in our hearts? I feel that this is something that everyone should be able to answer even in themselves. The easy answer to give is "because its the right thing to do", or "you are supposed to go to church", another great answer that is very common to this question is "because I am Christian". Those are not stong answers though. Why do we gather in a church then? That is a far less person question that we can find all through out the scripture. My answer will come to you straight from the bible. "Where two or more are gathered in my name there I am also". I am sorry I do not remember where in the bible this comes from I just know that it is the word passed to me from my god. Well if when we gather in gods name He is there also then I want to gather in His/Her name so that I can be closer with him. I always want to be in God's pressence. That is why I go to church and I think many of us go for that same reason most of the time with out even knowing that is the reason we get up and ge